Summer's kicked into high gear in New Jersey, which means FREE plans for families are a hot commodity. Here's a roundup of spots to catch some old and newer favorite movies, for a range of ages, on the (very) cheap across Jersey.

INDOOR Free Summer Movies in NJ

Marquee Cinemas Free Summer Movies (Toms River)
Tuesday and Wednesday mornings at 9:30am. Two films are featured each week, so take your pick or go both days.
July 11 & 12: Alvin & the Chipmunks: The Road Chip, The Secret Life of Pets
July 18 & 19: Kubo & the 2 Strings, Norm of the North
July 25 & 26: Storks, The Peanut Movie
August 1 & 2: Trolls, Sing
August 8 & 9: Monster Trucks, The Wild Life
August 15 & 16: The Lego Batman Movie, Ice Age Collision Course

ALMOST free:

Regal Cinemas' Summer Movie Express returns with $1 screenings of popular kids films each Tuesday and Wednesday morning. Two films are featured each week, with half a dozen NJ theaters taking part (Burlington, ManahawkinMays LandingPhillipsburgTurnersville and Vineland).
July 11-12: Monster Trucks, Penguins of Madagascar
July 18-19: Rio 2, The Boxtrolls
July 25-26: The Secret Life of Pets, Sing
August 1-2: Kubo and the Two Strings, Ratchet and Clank
August 8-9: The Spongebob Movie: Sponge Out of Water, The Adventures of Tintin
August 15-16: Happy Feet 2, Cats & Dogs: The Revenge of Kitty Galore
August 22-23: Storks, The Lego Batman Movie

OUTDOOR Free Summer Movies in NJ

Atlantic County

Every Tuesday, there’s 'Movies Under the Stars' in Atlantic City at Gardner's Basin. Movies start at dusk. No outside food or beverage is permitted. Vendors will be featured each week.
July 11: Shark Tale
July 18: The Croods
July 25: Trolls
August 1: Penguins of Madagascar
August 8: Home
August 15: Horton Hears a Who
August 22: Boss Baby
August 29: Rio
September 5: Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Movies on the beach in Ventnor are every Monday in July and August. Films start at dusk, weather permitting, at Suffolk Ave Beach behind the tennis courts. No outside food or beverage is permitted. Vendors will be featured each week.
July 10: Rio
July 17: Boss Baby
July 24: Turbo
July 31: Trolls
August 7: How To Train Your Dragon
August 14: Mr. Peabody & Sherman
August 21: Shark Tale

Burlington County

Pemberton Township presents free movies at Mirror Lake Beach each Friday night in July and August. Free popcorn each screening, while supplies last.
July 7: Star Wars, Rogue One
July 14: Moana
July 21: Ninja Turtles
July 28: Sing
August 4: Power Rangers
August 11: Finding Dory
August 18: Beauty and the Beast
August 25: ‘Flashback Friday’ with Honey I Shrunk the Kids

Cape May County

Movies on the beach in Wildwood. Every Friday, head to Leaming Ave Beach with your chairs and blankets. Films start at dusk, weather permitting. No outside food or beverage is allowed. Vendors include Cape May BBQ, Just Delicious Kettlecorn, Kona Ice Cape May and SmartFruit.
July 7: Boss Baby
July 14: Trolls
July 21: Rio
July 28: Horton Hears a Who
August 4: Mr. Peabody and Sherman
August 11: The Sandlot
August 18: Captain Underpants

Gloucester County (locations vary)

Movies are provided by the county and titles are chosen by each municipality.  All shows begin at dusk (8:00-8:30).
Friday, July 7: Sing (Woodbury Heights Community Center)
Monday, July 10: Moana (Free Public Library of Monroe)
Wednesday, July 12: Sing (West Deptford Township, Riverwinds Community Center)
Friday, July 14: Sing (Swedesboro, Lake Narraticon Park)
Wednesday, July 19: Moana (Glassboro, East New Street Park)
Friday, July 21: Sing (Woodbury, Wing-Dickerson Park)
Wednesday, July 26: Sing (Newfield Borough, Newfield Grove)
Friday, July 28: Moana (Woolwich Township Municipal Building)
Friday, August 4: Moana (Paulsboro, Fort Billings Park)
Wednesday, August 9: Moana (Mantua Township, Chestnut Branch Park)
Friday, August 11: Secret Life of Pets (Greenwich Township, Memorial Park)
Friday, August 18: Secret Life of Pets (Clayton Borough, Sandelier Park)
Wednesday, August 23: Moana (South Harrison Township, Stewart Park)
Friday, August 25: Finding Dory (Red Bank Battlefield, 100 Hessian Avenue)
Wednesday, August 30: Sing (Pitman, Sunset Auditorium, Laurel Avenue)

Ocean County

Brick drive-in movies on Fridays are part of Summerfest at Windward Beach Park. Movies begin at dusk.
August 11: Zootopia
August 18: Miracle
August 25: The Secret Life of Pets

Summer beach movies in Seaside Heights are twice a week in July and August. Bring a chair or blanket to the beach at Carteret Ave. Showtime starts at sunset.
Sunday, July 9: The Secret Life of Pets
Tuesday, July 11: Big Hero 6
Sunday, July 16: The Wild Life
Tuesday, July 18: Lego Batman Movie
Sunday, July 23: Storks
Tuesday, July 25: Angry Birds Movie
Sunday, July 30: Finding Dory
Tuesday, August 1: Wreck It Ralph
Sunday, August 6: Moana
Tuesday, August 8: Monsters University
Sunday, August 13: Despicable Me 2
Tuesday, August 15: Minions
Sunday, August 20: The BFG
Tuesday, August 22: Sing
Sunday, August 27: Finding Nemo
Tuesday, August 29: Beauty and the Beast

Sign up for the WPG Talk Radio 104.1 Newsletter

Get South Jersey news and information e-mailed to you every week.