SEA ISLE CITY — Starting May 15, anyone under the age of 18 can't be roaming this Cape May County city past 10 PM.

Sea Isle City officials approved an ordinance Tuesday morning that imposes a year-round curfew for minors, the city clerk confirmed with Townsquare Media.

From May 15 to Sept. 15, a curfew is in effect from 10 PM to 6 AM. Individuals under the age of 18 can be out until 11 PM during the rest of the year (except for Halloween and the days leading up to it).

Officials have an "interest in reducing juvenile violence and crime," and an "interest in strengthening parental responsibility for children," according to the language of the ordinance.

Penalties for juvenile offenders are negligible (warnings and having the parents contacted). But a parent or legal guardian who knowingly lets a minor violate the city's curfew is subject to a penalty of $250 to $500. Additional offenses are subject to higher fines.

The rules won't apply if a teen is accompanied by a parent or caretaker, or if the juvenile is involved in an emergency or on the way to or from work.

Weird things NJ taxes - and some they don't

In general, New Jersey assesses a 6.625% Sales Tax on sales of most tangible personal property, specified digital products, and certain services unless specifically exempt under New Jersey law.
However, the way the sales tax is applied in New Jersey sometimes just doesn't make sense.
New Jersey puts out an itemized list for retailers that spells out what is, and what is not, taxed. 
Perhaps because this is New Jersey, there are some bizarre and seemingly contradictory listings. 

Most affordable places to live in New Jersey

SmartAsset released a study analyzing the most affordable places to live in New Jersey. The eighth annual study weighed several factors, including taxes, homeowners’ insurance, and home costs relative to the local median income.

More From WPG Talk Radio 95.5 FM