The results of the 2019 election to the National Baseball Hall of Fame were announced on Monday evening.

The Phillies had several players on the ballot, highlighted by starting pitchers Roy Halladay and Curt Schilling, along with infielder Scott Rolen and closer Billy Wagner.

When the results were announced, Halladay was among those named.

Those elected were:

  1. Edgar Martinez, designated hitter
  2. Roy Halladay, starting pitcher
  3. Mike Mussina, starting pitcher
  4. Mariano Rivero, closer

Halladay was a lifetime 203 - 105 with a 3.38 earned run average in 16 seasons.  Halladay He struck out 2117 in 2749 1/3 innings.  Halladay has two Cy Young awards under his belt.

As a Phillies pitcher, Halladay pitched both a perfect game during the regular season against the Florida Marlins and a National League Division Series no-hitter against the Cincinnati Reds.  It was just the second postseason no-hitter in baseball history.

Jayson Stark of the Athletic noted in MLB Network's coverage of the event that Halladay is the first player to be elected on the first try and not be able to enjoy the honor himself other than Christy Mathewson in the first ever ballot.  Mathewson had died 11 years prior.  Halladay, of course passed away ahead of the voting in a November 7, 2017 plane crash in the Gulf of Mexico.

As for other former Phillies:

Schilling received 60.9 percent of the vote, while Rolen got 17.2 percent and Wagner 16.9 percent. Michael Young, who spent most of 2013 with the Phillies, received nine votes for 2.1% Former Phillies pitcher Roy Oswalt ended with four votes, good for 0.9 percent of the total vote.  Former Phillies infielder Placido Polanco received two votes.

More From WPG Talk Radio 95.5 FM